Bookmark ArtVista
"The Art Fair Age" von Paco Barragán

Wir haben das Zeitalter der Kunstmessen betreten – Das ist die Botschaft des Buches "The Art Fair Age" bzw. die seines Autors Paco Barragán, eines in Madrid lebenden freien Kurators.

Barragán betreibt mit seinem Buch eine ökonomische und soziologische Analyse dieses "Art Fair Age" und dessen Auswirkungen auf den Kunstmarkt. 
Gibt es zu viele Messen? Wie müssen sie sich wandeln und positionieren um im stärker werdenden Konkurrenzkampf zu überleben? Der Autor beantwortet diese und andere Fragen mit Verweisen auf den Markt und seine Akteure. Er vergleicht das rasante Entstehen immer neuer Messen mit der Globalisierung ("…und diese ist weder gut noch schlecht, sondern das, was wir daraus machen.") und arbeitet heraus, was die Veranstalter und Kuratoren in punkto Konzept, Veranstaltungsort und –zeit beachten müssen, um erfolgreich und für den Besucher unverwechselbar zu sein.

Laut Barragáns Theorie vollzieht sich eine Wandlung der Kunstmessen zu einem "Urban entertainment Center" das gleichermaßen die Möglichkeit bietet, zu entspannen, zu handeln und Neues zu entdecken ("leisure, commerce and novelty"). Der Besucher kauft nicht (nur) die Ware, sondern ein "Erlebnis".

Barragán analysiert die Sammler als Protagonisten der Kunstmessen und entwickelt, analog zu Abraham Maslows "hierarchy of human needs" eine "Collectors Motivation Pyramide", die, ausgehend vom Bedürfnis nach "prestige and social recognition" in der Befriedigung von ästhetischen oder intellektuellen Bedürfnissen gipfelt.

Barragán macht bewusst, dass Kunstevents längst ein "branding tool" geworden sind – nicht nur für Unternehmen, die Veranstaltungen sponsern, sondern insbesondere auch für "Stadt-Marketiers", um bis dato kaum beachtete Städte ins globale (Kunst)Bewusstsein zu rücken.

Paco Barragán stellt bei seinen Analysen zahlreiche Bezüge und Verbindungen her (z.B. Luc Boltanski & Eve Chiapello, Ridderstrale & Nordström) weshalb er häufig mit Zitaten und Verweisen arbeitet, die er mit geradezu wissenschaftlicher Akribie aufführt. Da ist es hilfreich, wenn der Leser ein gewisses Maß an Vorwissen mitbringt.

"The Art Fair Age" regt zum Nachdenken an: diejenigen, die selbst im Kunstbetrieb tätig sind, werden ihre Meinung an der Barragáns reiben, Sammlern bietet sich eine neue Perspektive auf die vielschichtige Welt der Kunstmessen und Biennalen. Absolut lesenswert ist auch das Vorwort von Amanda Coulson und Michele Robecchi, das einen wunderbar frischen Blick auf die behandelnden Themen vermittelt. Ein rundes Werk mit Tiefgang.

ArtVista/WM/28-09-2008
english
The Art Fair Age
Authors: Paco Barragán. Prefaces by Amanda Coulson and Michele Robecchi
Format: 15,5 x 23 cm
Pages: 200
Binding: paperback
Illustrations: 68 illustrations in b/w
Year: 2008
Edition: English / Spanish
ISBN 978-88-8158-682-0

Bookmark ArtVista
"The Art Fair Age" by Paco Barragán

We have entered the age of art fairs – That is the proclamation of the book "The Art Fair Age" by its author Paco Barragán, an independent curator living in Madrid.

Through his book, Barragán carries out an economic and sociologic analysis of this "age of art fairs." Are there too many art fairs? The author answers that question by referring to the market and its players: the current developments are a result of the market, and that is – like globalisation – neither good nor bad, but what we do as a consequence of it.

According to Barragáns theory, a transformation of art fairs is currently taking place, now moving towards an "urban entertainment center," which provides "leisure, commerce and novelty." The visitor is not (only) buying art but an “experience.” Barragán describes a way in which art fairs need to change and position themselves in order to survive the competition, which is becoming stronger and stronger.

The author analyses the collectors as protagonists of the art fairs and develops analogue to Abraham Maslows’ "Hierarchy of Human Needs" a self-styled "Collectors Motivation Pyramid" which starts at its base with motivation for “prestige and social recognition” and peaks with the satisfaction of aesthetic and intellectual needs.

Barragán makes us aware that art fairs and biennials have been used everlastingly as "branding tools" – not only for companies which sponsor the events, but especially for "city marketeers" which up until now, are putting previously unnoticed cities on the global (art)map. 

For his analyses, Paco Barragán generates many references and relations (e.g. to Boltanski & Eve Chiapello or Ridderstrale & Nordström), and therefore often operates with quotations and links, which he lists meticulously in a scientific manner. Some background knowledge by the reader is definitely an advantage to understanding the connections in total depth.

"The Art Fair Age" inspires us to contemplate: those who are themselves working in the art business will question their opinion with that of Barragán’s; collectors can look at the multilayered world of art fairs and biennials from a new perspective. Absolutely worth reading is the preface by Amanda Coulson und Michele Robecchi which provides a wonderfully fresh view on the discussed topics. A well-rounded book with depth.

ArtVista/WM/28-09-2008
deutsch
The Art Fair Age
Authors: Paco Barragán. Prefaces by Amanda Coulson and Michele Robecchi
Format: 15,5 x 23 cm
Pages: 200
Binding: paperback
Illustrations: 68 illustrations in b/w
Year: 2008
Edition: English / Spanish
ISBN 978-88-8158-682-0